Saturday, November 18

AIFF approves AFC Licensing for Aizawl FC and Bengaluru FC


All India Football Federation (AIFF) has granted last year’s I-League champions Aizawl FC and Federation Cup champions Bengaluru FC with AFC Licenses.

AIFF Indian Football Aizawl Bengaluru

AIFF Football House, the headquarters of the Indian Federation at New Delhi

AIFF’s Club Licensing Committee — “First Instance Body” met at Football House, New Delhi to evaluate and decide the applications made by license applicants for AFC Club Competitions 2017-18.

Eight I-League clubs had applied for the AFC and national licenses for the season 2017-18 — Aizawl FC, Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Bengaluru FC, Shillong Lajong FC, Churchill Brothers, Chennai City FC and Minerva Punjab FC.

After going through the reports, the members of the committee unanimously decided to award the AFC License to Aizawl FC and Bengaluru FC only.

The committee further decided to convene another meeting in the near future to decide the results of the applications made by the same clubs for National Club Competitions.

The legacy giants of Indian football, East Bengal, and Mohun Bagan had also applied for the license but after emerging as the I-League winners, Aizawl FC were the strongest contenders. Bengaluru FC got their license on the count of their Federation Cup victory.


About Author

Computer Engineer bitten by the sports bug.

Leave A Reply